Skip to content

playing with old paints

February 17, 2011

I’ve been playing with my old set of watercolors lately. I mixed lots of white to get a more opaque gouache-esque look, but I think I need to stop pussyfooting and just try using real gouache :0

The bottom painting has hand stitching on it.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 8:36 pm

    the bunnies!!!! so cute. :’3 i think of watership down.

    • February 17, 2011 8:37 pm

      you really should try out gouache! i am starting to like it more and more.

      • February 17, 2011 8:40 pm

        Watership down ;__; I love that movie so much!
        I will I promise I will! and YOU need to scan some of your gouache work! I’d love to see it ❤

      • February 17, 2011 10:16 pm

        i totally will! i keep forgetting too! XD

  2. February 17, 2011 8:46 pm

    Awww these are happy bunnies! But it’s no surprise that I love the deer!

  3. Scanadensis permalink
    February 18, 2011 4:14 am

    YAAAAAY! Well, you had us fooled.. we were sure you used gouache on the deer! Love these so much. Jorie is going to get the deer piece framed 😀

    • February 18, 2011 4:53 pm


      omg nooo don't frame it, then the unevenness will be so obvious! That teaches me to say "pish" to rulers @_@

  4. February 18, 2011 4:47 am

    Yay! I loooove the watercolor that you sent, and the hand-stitching is so cool and unexpected. Also, yeah, photographing watercolors is HARD. I don’t have so much of a problem with photographing (acrylic or oil) paintings and matching their “true” colors, but it’s a lot tougher with gouache and watercolor. Everything looks better in-person!

    • February 18, 2011 4:51 pm

      IT IS. the first pic is a scan, so all the blue is missing, but the second picture was a photo. It doesn’t help that I don’t remember what the actual colors in the picture were! I’m envious that Steph has you around to help take photos >:D
      I wonder how everyone who does watercolor and gouche document their work, scanners maybe?
      PS I’m so glad you still like it!

  5. February 18, 2011 2:28 pm

    kawaii !

    cheers, parsnip

  6. February 24, 2011 12:03 pm

    stop being such a wuss and go get some gouache!

Trackbacks

  1. spring badger « Molly-olly-oxen-free!

Leave a Reply

